Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health

Working together for better
Our goal is to ensure that primary health services and the health service system across the Murray PHN catchment area is responsive to the needs of our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. This is a whole organisation approach and will be achieved by:

  • Increasing basic human rights of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people by reducing racism and discrimination in health services.
  • Focusing on mental health as a key health gap between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians.
  • Building our relationship and collaboration with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.
  • Building capacity of Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisations (ACCHOs) to meet identified needs through improved health workforce and capacity.
  • Building knowledge and understanding within health policy and practice.

Central role of ACCHOs

  • They are at the heart of Aboriginal communities
  • Are grounded in local values and culture
  • Provide opportunities for engagement and participation
  • Provide high quality, evidence-based health care
  • Are part of our organisations collaboration across the health system.

VACCHO/NACCHO Members in the Murray PHN catchment:

VACCHO auspice services

  • Kerang Aboriginal Community Centre
  • Swan Hill and District Aboriginal Co-operative

VACCHO member organisations

To see all VACCHO member organisations, click here. To learn more about NACCHO, click here.

Integrated Team Care (ITC)

Integrated Team Care (ITC) combines the past programs of Care Coordination and Supplementary Services (CCSS) and Improving Indigenous Access to Mainstream Primary Care (IIAMPC). ITC builds on the success of these activities and uses a team-based approach for the provision of coordinated multidisciplinary care.

ITC aims to improve health outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people with chronic health conditions and to contribute to closing the gap in life expectancy for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

Murray PHN has commissioned several providers across the region to assist Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to access primary care services and to provide care coordination to eligible people. ITC providers also play a key role in improving access to culturally appropriate mainstream primary care for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

For information and access to ITC please contact the following ITC Providers in the Murray PHN catchment, or alternatively contact the Murray PHN regional offices located in Bendigo, Shepparton, Albury and Mildura by clicking here.

Referral forms can be accessed by health professionals in our region on Murray HealthPathways. If you are not registered, you can register for free here.

Central Victoria

Bendigo and District Aboriginal Co-Operative
Njernda Aboriginal Corporation

Goulburn Valley

Rumbalara Aboriginal Co-operative
Primary Care Connect - Indigenous Health Project Officer only

North East

Albury Wodonga Aboriginal Health Service - working in collaboration with Mungabareena Aboriginal Corporation and Gateway Health

North West

Mallee District Aboriginal Services (Mildura, Swan Hill and Kerang)
Murray Valley Aboriginal Cooperative (MVAC)